Transcending written emotions to actual felt emotions

Posted: February 1, 2014 in Uncategorized

I am

By: Amanda Helm

 

I am in ruins.

I am with the used up tampons and old rotting banana peels in the waste basket.

I am woman.

I am the unwanted feeling in the pit of your stomach.

I am crawling out from under the debris of every hurricane that has come ashore.

I am woman.

I am in ruins.

I am ruined.

I am –

please…. I don’t need saving.

I am the blood curdling cry in the middle of the night.

I am the shaking hands after an “almost” car-wreck.

I am the invisibility you crave and the attention seeker you hate.

I am –

please…. I do NOT need saving.

 

I am the woman you called a bitch when I did not give you my telephone number.

I am the slut when you noticed I was wearing short- shorts.

I am the still small voice that has been shoved back down into my esophagus.

I am choking.

I am the embodiment of “You Need to Eat More” and somehow, because of you, the embodiment of “You Need to Eat Less,” too.

I am woman.

I am the voice trying to be heard.

I am the woman trying to change everything that hurts.

I am the silence you hear when I speak.

I am the reverberating, “WOULD THIS FEMINAZI PLEASE SHUT UP.”

I am the breakdown in the workplace when you look down my shirt.

 

I am both the sensitive and the strong.

I am both the forgotten and the desire to be heard.

I am caught between  a rock and a hard place – in other words, I am caught between man and man – in other words, I am caught between never being heard and never being heard – in other words, I am caught between being an object that is only fuckable and being an object that is thrown away.

 

Amanda Helm – I am. (via amandaspoetry)

                This poem by Amanda Helm puts into words extreme emotions that we, in some point in our lives, have felt. Although the words seems simple, when all put together, it portrays a strong emotion that’s difficult to explain and yet the emotion she tries to portray seems so relatable.

                The depth of the emotion she tries to portray is deep and yet the language she uses is simple and some points crass and yet this makes the poem even more relatable. When we feel great emotions, sometime we cuss and when she used the curse words in her poem, it helps as she transforms the emotions that are difficult to describe into words that can make the reader actually feel what she means and yet at the same time not really know what the exact emotion is.

 

Source:

Helm, Amanda. “I Am.” I Am in Ruins. I Am with the Used up Tampons And… at. N.p., 29 Jan. 2014. Web. 31 Jan. 2014.

Leave a Reply

